The Sidney Prize and Other Awards

Sidney Prize is an award for science writers and journalists who write about issues that impact the public. The awards are bestowed by New York Times columnist David Brooks, who has been giving them out since 2004. Recent winners include Amanda Hess’ essay on online sexism and Ed Yong’s piece about the dangers of students’ hypersensitivity, which prevents them from adapting to real-life situations.

Another type of Sydney Prize is the Iwanter Prize, which honors a student who documents the legacy of a previous generation of scholars and students. The award was established by alumnus Sidney Iwanter (B.A. ’71, History) as a way to celebrate his passion for documenting the scholarship of others. Iwanter’s curiosity and his will to pass on knowledge led him to secretly record his professor Harvey Goldberg’s lectures at UW-Madison, eventually donating them to the University. Iwanter’s gift has helped to preserve the work of many scholars, including some of the most influential historians in the United States.

The Neilma Sydney Prize, hosted by Overland magazine and the Sydney Foundation, is open to writers from all over the world. The winner receives $5,000 cash, and their story is published in Overland and online. The prize is a great opportunity for young writers to get their stories out in front of a large audience.

Another notable Sydney Prize is the Neilma Sidney Short Story prize, which has a similar goal to the Iwanter prize. The competition is open to writers from all over the world, and the winner will be published in Overland magazine and online. The prize is also a good opportunity for young writers to showcase their talents and get noticed by the literary community.

In addition to writing prizes, there are a number of academic and humanitarian scholarships that have been named after Sidney Hook. These awards are given out every year to honor individuals who are making a significant contribution to the advancement of education and liberal arts. The scholarships also help to encourage women to pursue engineering careers.

The Sidney Film Production Company Industry Prize is a scholarship that was established to assist Master of Moving Image students with the cost of their final project and give them industry experience. It was donated by the Committee of Sydney Mechanics’ School of Arts.

The Hillman Prize is a monthly award from the Sidney Hillman Foundation that honors journalists “who pursue investigative reporting and deep storytelling in the public interest.” This prize was founded in memory of Sidney Hillman, president of the Amalgamated Clothing Workers of America. The Foundation has been working for more than six decades to illuminate critical issues for working people and seek solutions for social and economic justice. Past winners of the Sidney Prize have included Jane Mayer for her report on Dick Cheney’s violations of domestic and international law, and Bill Moyers and Kathleen Hughes for their broadcast on “Buying the War.” The foundation has also honored activists Patrisse Cullors, Alicia Garza, and Opal Tometi.